East Africa: EA e-Passport Set For January 2018 Release

Member countries of the East African Community (EAC) have pushed forward the issuance of the EA e-Passport to early 2018 (January 31st 2018). The announcement was made at the recently concluded 35th EAC Council of Ministers’ meeting in Arusha, Tanzania.

East Africa: EA e-Passport Set For January 2018 Release

The new regional e-passport is now set to be launched around the same time the African Union (AU) intends to release the e-African passport. It is expected to boost free movement of people across the bloc and facilitate implementation of the Common Market protocol, which guarantees the right to move between countries in East Africa.

The EA e-Passport will arrive with ‘East African Community’ engraving in Gold on top and names of issuing partner countries below. It will also be available in different categories – diplomatic (red), ordinary (sky blue), and service (green). The ordinary passport will be valid up to 10 years while the diplomatic and service passports will be valid according to the holder’s specific term of the service.

The passport will have a chip which holds all the biographic information printed on the passport’s data page and also contain a biometric identifier, digital photograph of the holder and security features to prevent unauthorised reading or scanning of stored data.

Source: East African Community (EAC)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *